Frida Krifca

President of the Governing Board

Teodoro Miano

Secretary-General of the CIHEAM


Consisting of one representative from each of the 13 Member States, the Governing Board is the managing and decision-making body. Representatives of the OECD and the Council of Europe sit ex officio on the Board in an advisory capacity. The President is elected by a 2/3 majority for a period of 4 years. He is assisted by Vice-Presidents elected for the same period through the same voting procedure.


It consists of a number of eminent figures appointed for a period of 4 years by the Governing Board. They are "chosen, in particular, from among members of establishments for higher education in agriculture and of agricultural research institutes" (article 5.1 of the 1962 Agreement). It gives its advice on issues submitted by the Governing Board.

CIHEAM Advisory Board members

President of the Advisory Board

Mr ABDALLAH Chadi (CNRS Lebanon)

Advisory Board Members

Mrs BENCHIKH LEHOCINE Maysoun (Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development of Algeria)
Mrs FATEN Khamassi (INAT, Tunisia)
Mr CARMONA BELO Carlos (INIAV, Portugal)
Mr KAPAJ Ilir (Tirana University, Albania)
Mr ROJAS BRIALES Eduardo (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
Mrs SAMMUT Sonya (Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, Food, and Animal Rights of Malta)

Overview of the CIHEAM Institutional Organization Chart

©2023 CIHEAM Bari. All rights reserved.
crossmenuchevron-down Skip to content